Work With Memberships
Find Memberships
In the Filmbot web admin in Memberships > Purchased, you can find a membership by entering a Membership Code, Primary Email, Secondary Email (for Dual members), or Last Name in the appropriate field, then clicking the Filter button.
Once you find the appropriate membership in the list, you can simply click on the Membership Code to see all of that member's details.
Note: if you have multiple sites that are part of a Linked Membership Domain, you'll want to be sure to search for a member's account on the site where the membership was originally purchased.
Update and Renew Memberships
Members can update their contact information, billing method and renew their membership via the link provided to them at the bottom of their membership email confirmation and expiration reminders.
The member page will show if/when the renewal payment was made and when their current membership is scheduled to renew in the Current Term Ends field.

If you want to manually update or renew a member via the web admin, visit Memberships > Purchased, find the member, and you'll see links to that member's Update and Renew pages once you hover your pointer over their Membership Code. (Note: because monthly memberships automatically renew, they will not have a Renew link.)
If the member can't find their Update or Renewal link and asks for it to be sent, you can also copy the URL of the Renew or Update link from the web admin to provide to them in a separate email.
Manually Apply a Pending Renewal
If a customer has paid for a renewal in advance and would like the renewal to happen as soon as possible, you can update their Current Term Ends field to the current date (i.e. today's date) and their renewal will happen at midnight. After the renewal has processed, their plan type and membership details will update automatically, and the member will receive a confirmation email containing their new details.
Extend a Membership
You can extend the expiration date of any annual membership by finding and clicking on the Membership Code of the member, changing the Current Term Ends field to the desired expiration, then clicking Save Membership. (Note: this wil not count as a renewal.)
Resend an Order Confirmation/Membership Details
- In Memberships > Purchased, select the Membership code for the member.
- On the Membership Details page, select the linked order number.
- On the Order Details page, select the Email order confirmation button on the upper right side of the page. This will expand the container to show Email and Subject fields, and if you'd like, you can edit the recipient email and subject from here. Once you're ready to send, select the Send button just below the Subject field to re-send the confirmation email.

Cancel a Membership
Your monthly members can cancel their own accounts by visiting the link provided to them at the bottom of their membership email confirmation.
If you need to cancel a monthly member at the end of their next billing period, you can visit Memberships > Purchased in the web admin, find the member, and click on the Update link. You'll find a Cancel Renewal button there.
Annual members will automatically expire if they don't renew their membership, and generally don't require cancellation.
In the event you do need to immediately disable and cancel any membership, you can find and click on the Membership Code of the member, change the Current Term Ends field to yesterday's date, then click Save Membership.
Refund a Membership
If you need to immediately cancel a membership before its expiration and provide a prorated refund, that transaction would need to take place in your Stripe Dashboard once the membership has been cancelled. In the Stripe Dashboard, find the customer's last membership payment in the list of transactions, then click on the Refund button in the upper right-hand corner to provide the amount of the refund. (Note: refunds issued in Stripe will not appear in Filmbot reports.)
How a Membership is Connected to a Customer
When a customer purchases a membership, the system will identify an existing customer or create a new one, based on the submitted email address, to assign that membership.
(Please note: Only email addresses, not credit card fingerprints, are used for customer matching during membership purchases).
Merge or Replace Customers on Memberships
When a member tries to update the email associated with their membership to an email already associated with an existing customer, a message will inform them they need to contact the cinema for help changing it (“Your email address cannot be updated. Please contact the cinema for help changing it.")

If contacted about this, your team should:
- Navigate to Memberships > Purchased
- Search for the member
- Hover their cursor over the Membership Code and select the member's Update link that appears below the code
- Enter the new email address in the member details
- Select Save (a dialog will appear)
- Determine which of the two following options works best:
- Merge Customers: This action will combine the two customers into one customer with the updated email address and consolidate the order histories and customer details. This should be implemented in situations where both emails belong to the same person.
- Replace Member: This action will transfer the membership to the customer associated with the updated email, while keeping the previous customer separate, along with their order history. The membership will no longer be connected to the previous customer. This should be implemented in situations where the intention is to transfer the membership to a different person.
